Skip to main content

Lease Car of the Year

Alphabet organises the annual Lease Car of the Year contest. This contest has four categories of winners and two overall winners. The Lease car of the Year and the Private Lease Car of the Year.


The contest starts with the preparation of the longlist by Alphabet specialists. The longlist includes all the cars that satisfy predetermined criteria and qualify for the title Lease Car of the Year. These criteria are: no facelift, no convertible, no sports car, no commercial registration number, no off-road vehicle and available in the year of the contest.

Nominees per category and professional jury

Once the longlist has been drawn up, there is a round of voting by the professional jury. The Lease Car of the Year contest has four categories: Economy, Business, Business+ and Executive and the outcome of this vote determines which three cars are nominated per category.

The professional jury consists of:

4 Alphabet employees, one of whom is the jury chairman
3 Alphabet customers
1 (car) journalist

Online voting and desk research

Once the jury has decided on the three nominees in each category, the public may vote on the category winners and the overall winner online. Simultaneously, Alphabet starts its desk research, where the 12 nominees are evaluated on: supply range, economy/environment friendliness, variable costs, reliability and quality of importer/dealer.

Practical day

Finally, the 12 nominated cars are subjected to an extensive driving test by the professional jury and evaluated on the following points:

  • Engine power
  • Engine noise level
  • Gearbox/clutch
  • Steering
  • Brakes
  • Grip/Stability
  • Comfort
  • Interior noise level
  • Seats, front/rear
  • Dashboard/controls
  • Interior space
  • Luggage space
  • Heating/ventilation


The final winner is determined by adding together the results of the desk research, the public vote and the practical day. The result of the desk research counts for 30%, the public vote for 35% and the practical day jury also for 35%.

Year Winners
2017 Peugeot 3008
2016 Skoda Superb
2015 Volkswagen Passat
2014 Merceds-Benz C-Klasse
2013 Volvo V40
2012 Range Rover Evoque
2011 BMW 5-Serie
2010 Ford Fiesta
2008 Ford Mondeo
2006 Ford S-Max
2005 Peugeot 407
2004 Toyota Avensis
2001 Alfa 147
2000 Mitsubishi Spacewagon
1999 BMW 3-Serie
1998 Toyota Avensis
1997 Volkswagen Passat
1996 Peugeot 406
1995 Opel Omega
1994 Citroën Xantia
1993 Renault Safrane
1992 Audi 80